Bill Plympton, Psychedelic Bizarre

My hometown hosts a yearly animation festival and that’s where I first became aware of Bill Plympton. I saw many of his full-length features (who can forget Hair High and I Married A Strange Person…classic!) and a fair share of his shorts (sort of difficult to get hold of them…which is very inconvenient…).

And yes, it’s true, when Bill Plympton was walking around the streets of my town, I did end up following him around a bit. I just had to know what he was up to. The answer? I will never tell anyone.

Here is a very good short called The Date. Bill Plympton’s style is so unique, his visuals so weird and fascinating.

This is in a frame on the wall of my studio.

My sister got an autograph of Bill for me one year. That’s eternal gratitude of course. Guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

